CAR: Parties with seats in the 2005 National Assembly

Updated February 2011

Parties founded after the 2005 elections

The following parties, founded after the 2005 National Assembly elections, are included here for convenience, However, the independent members of the National Assembly who aligned themselves with the 2005 coalition the National Convergence Kwa Na Kwa in 2009 formed coalesced into a political party called Kwa Na Kwa and are listed in the table below this one.

Parties are ordered by date of founding and alphabetically.

Party Leaders Date founded
La Convention Républicaine pour le Progrès Social (CRSP) Maître Nicolas Tiangaye 23 May 2008
Parti de l'Unité du Peuple (PUP) Rigobert Vondo 2006
Nouvelle Alliance pour le Progrès (NAP)New Alliance for Progress Jean-Jacques Démafouth 13 Apr 2010

Parties with seats in the 2005 National Assembly

Parties are ordered by the number of seats in the National Assembly and by date of founding.

Party Leaders Date founded
Parti Kwa Na Kwa (KNK) Gen François Bozize 21 Aug 2009
Mouvement pour la Libération du Peuple Centrafricain (MLPC)Movement for the Liberation of the Central African People Martin ZiguéléAnge-Félix Patassé 28 Mar 1978
Rassemblement Démocratique Centrafricain (RDC)Central African Democratic Rally Emile Gros Raymond NakomboAndré Kolingba (d 7 Feb 2010) 6 Feb 1987
Parti pour la Démocratie en Centrafrique (PDCA)Party for democracy in Central Africa Michel ZaboloJean-Serge Wafio 22 Feb 2004
Parti National pour un Centrafrique Nouveau (PNCN)National Party for a New Central Africa Cyriaque Gonda 26 Mar 2004
Parti Social Démocrate (PSD)Social Democratic Party Jean-Baptiste Nouganga
Enoch Derant Lakoué
Mouvement pour la Démocratie l'Indépendance et le Progrès Social (MDI-PS)Movement for Democracy, Independence and Social Advancement Daniel Nditifei-Boysembé before Jul 1991
Parti Libéral-Démocrate (PLD)Liberal Democratic Party Thierry Yinifolo Vandenbos (d 29/06/2009)Nestor Kombot-Naguemon (d 26/10/2004) 1991
Parti de Unité Nationale (PUN) National Unity Party Jean-Paul Ngoupandé 1997
Front Patriotique pour le Progrès (FPP)Patriotic Front for Progress Front Alexandre GoumbaAbel Nguéndé Goumba (d 11 May 2009) 1991
Alliance pour la Démocratie et le Progrès (ADP)Alliance for Democracy and Progress Joseph Théophile DouacleFrançois Alfred Wilfried Pehoua (d 26/08/2000) Oct 1991
Mouvement pour la Démocratie et le Développement (MDD)Movement for Democracy and Development Ruffin MolonmadonDavid Dacko (d 20/11/2003) 1993
Parti d'Action pour le Développement (PAD)Development Action Party Laurent Ngon-Baba 1997
Union Nationale pour la Démocratie et le Rassemblement (UNADER)AKA Union Nationale pour la Démocratie et le RenouveauNational Union for Democracy and Rally Laurent Gomina Pampali 2004
Forum Démocratique pour la Modernité (FODEM) Democratic Forum for Modernity Joseph Garba OuangoléCharles Massi (expelled 2008) 27 Nov 1997
Front National Démocratique (FND)National Democratic Front André Denamse-Kette 1997
Congrès des Sociaux Démocratiques Centrafricains (CSDC) Modida Bene 1999
Association Löndö (Löndö)Löndö Association Henri Pouzère c2004
MUPS Ngaikosse